LINKS OF INTEREST The North Carolina Association of County Commissioners represents all 100 N.C. counties before the executive, legislative and judicial branches of state government. Collectively through the Association, counties strive to preserve and protect the authority and ability of county governments to deliver the services for which they are responsible. The North Carolina Civic Education Consortium works with schools, governments and community organizations to prepare North Carolina's young people to be active, responsible citizens. All 100 of North Carolina's counties are also members of the National Association of Counties, which represents county governments on a national level. The Web site includes a national overview and history of county governments. is a historical perspective of N.C. county governments from the State Library of North Carolina. includes information on North Carolina county government, as compiled by the State Library of North Carolina.

Links to county Web sites: Alamance County Alexander County Alleghany County Anson County Ashe County Avery County Beaufort County Bertie County Bladen County Brunswick County Buncombe County Burke County Cabarrus County Caldwell County Camden County Carteret County Caswell County Catawba County Chatham County Cherokee County Chowan County Clay County Cleveland County Columbus County Craven County Cumberland County Currituck County Dare County Davidson County Davie County Duplin County Durham County Edgecombe County Forsyth County Franklin County Gaston County Gates County Graham County Granville County Greene County Guilford County Halifax County Harnett County Haywood County Henderson County Hertford County Hoke County Hyde County Iredell County Jackson County Johnston County Jones County Lee County Lenoir County Lincoln County Macon County Madison County Martin County McDowell County Mecklenburg County Mitchell County Montgomery County Moore County Nash County New Hanover County Northampton County Onslow County Orange County Pamlico County Pasquotank County Pender County Perquimans County Person County Pitt County Polk County Randolph County Richmond County Robeson County Rockingham County Rowan County Rutherford County Sampson County Scotland County Stanly County Stokes County Surry County Swain County Transylvania County Tyrrell County Union County Vance County Wake County Warren County Washington County Watauga County Wayne County Wilkes County Wilson County Yadkin County Yancey County